Get Your Quince On

Shhh! I’m not supposed to be here! I’m supposed to be writing an essay about the architectural spaces in Rear Window and North by Northwest and thereby not failing my masters. But I had to slink away all subterfuge-like to come and tell you two things:

1. I am now on Planet VegMel! Which is the place where you can find all of Melbourne’s vegetarian and vegan blogs in the one handy place. Hooray!

http://planet.vegmel.com/

I think as contributors we all need badges and a secret handshake. Oooh, and hats!

2. I never intended to use this blog for recipes, mainly because I actually don’t get into the kitchen as much as I should, but my mother and I have been experimenting with quinces and discovered an AMAZING recipe for poaching quinces that we found on a flyer that Mum was pretty sure she’d picked up from our local orchard, so I figured I’d share it in lieu of a review.

OVEN BAKED QUINCES

  • 1.75 litres water
  • 1kg caster sugar
  • 2kg quinces (approximately 6 medium quinces)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks (big ones!)
  • 1 x 3cm piece ginger, peeled and sliced (we used 2 pieces of ginger than were a damn sight bigger than 1 x 3cms, but then we are ginger fiends)

Preheat oven to 180*C.

Put the water and caster sugar in a medium sized saucepan and heat together, stirring frequently, until the sugar has dissolved.

Peel the quinces, cut in half and discard the cores. Place them in a single layer in a large baking dish (warning, you’re going to need a big-arse baking dish with deep sides to accommodate all the sugar water. We had to upgrade in baking dishes a couple of times and still ended up not being able to fit all the water in). Scatter the cinnamon sticks and ginger on top and pour the syrup over the quinces. Cover the dish with aluminium foil and bake the quinces for about two hours, or until they are a deep orange-red colour and very tender.

Seriously, this is the best way I’ve found of using quinces. After they’d cooled down from their bake we just popped them in tupperwear with their syrup and stuck them in the fridge. Since then we’ve been having them on cereal, with cream or ice cream, or even just with the syrup. Mum made a cake out of them tonight!

Seriously, quinces, get on that. Nom, nom, nom… Now, back to essay. And you never saw me here!

2 thoughts on “Get Your Quince On

  1. Architectural spaces in Rear Window and North by Northwest?! As a hopseless Hitchcock nerd, I want to do that masters subject! I’m back at Melbourne Uni doing a masters subject next week, but alas it will be far more prosaic and commercial law-y.

    I’m obsessed with poached quinces. For extra awesomeness, I suggest adding a pinch of mixed spice.

  2. I’d been eying off this Hitchcock subject since undergrad days, as I’m also a Hitchcock tragic, and it’s been so wonderful! A nice contrast to all the “let’s learn how to market the arts” subjects I’ve also been taking.

    Mixed spice sounds like it would be a dynamite inclusion. The best part of this recipe was biting into the just-poached quinces and getting a riotous explosion of cinnamon in your mouth. More spices = bigger explosions of deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

