Minimo

Since I moved to the northern suburbs, I’ve been a little bit crap in actually exploring all the new brunchy vittles that are now tantalisingly within reach of my house (official story is I’m trying to save a bit of money by not eating out as much; actual story is that if left to my own devices I can end up in a lazy spiral where my food habits turn into “exactly how many different toppings can you put on a Ryvita?”).

So the best method to actually get me exploring greater Brunswick’s food offerings is to lure people to visit me. When my sister Carly put a call out on Saturday morning for someone to take her out for hungover brunch, I jumped in with the promise of Brunswick fun times.

I’d been keen to visit Minimo since this Where’s the Beef post from the depths of time. I always like the idea of good solid little cafes that are consistent and hold forth with ALL OF THE EGG DISHES, and as such felt it would be the perfect venue to help Carly in her vale of hungover sorrow.

Such were the quantity of egg dishes that it took me a while to decide what to have, but corn fritters are always a pretty pleasing idea especially when they come with two poached eggs. A giant stack of two plump corn fritters that were absolutely bursting with kernels did indeed come topped with two poached eggs, as well as generous slatherings of lime mayo and fresh mango salsa. The eggs popped deliciously runny, hot yolk all over everything, the mayo had a sharp citrus bite to it, and since going to a party a few weeks ago where I sampled a delicious tofu, fresh mango and sweet chilli burger I am ALL ABOUT savoury mango now, so the sweet pulpy mango salsa was divine. This is one of the first times in a long while where I’ve received a $17 plate of breakfast and felt that it was actually well worth every penny.

After making the waiter dissolve into laughter about the fact that Carly required ALL THE MEATS (I think we quietly made his day with our bantery ways, clearly we need to start a comedic sibling double act pronto), Carly built her own breakfast plate of poached eggs, thick cuts of bacon, and a generous amount of thinly sliced prosciutto. The prosciutto disappeared VERY QUICKLY, which is indicative of quality, as Carly is well fussy with her smallgoods. The serving was a bit too large for her hungover tum, a fact that she lamented extensively, as she greatly enjoyed it all and felt a bit rotten having to leave some of it behind.

The coffee would probably turn up the nose of the most ardent coffee snobs – the crema on the top of my flat white was a bit thin and wobbly (…that’s a technical term), and the backend was a touch bitter, but I was pleased enough with it, considering I rarely have coffee anyway.

Minimo was just what I had always hoped it would be, a solid neighbourhood cafe with generous, hearty food and friendly staff that create a space that is clearly a haven for its legion of regular customers. I couldn’t be more pleased to be living near by.

Minimo

822 Sydney Road, Brunswick

Ph: 9383 2083

Minimo on Facebook

2 thoughts on “Minimo

  1. Hmm, wonder if they are open tomorrow? I wanted to take my friend to Mule, but they are definitely shut.

    Also, we should do brunch again, now that we are on the same side of town!

    love

    Catherine

    • I always hate this time of year when it’s so hard to figure out where to get yourself a nice brunch. Of course all hardworking hospies deserve a holiday, I just wish everyone agreed on the same time to take it! I hope Minimo was open for you and your friend.

      And yes yes YES we must brunch as soon as is seemly! There are so many northside places that are new for me to explore!

Leave a Reply

