Butter Tofu and Broccoli Curry

I’ve always been a bit massively intimidated by Indian cuisine, and very rarely make it at home for myself. Maybe it’s the long spice lists that generally accompanies most traditional-leaning recipes that gets me in a flap. However, pre-Christmas time found me needing to make something that would use up all perishable food items that wouldn’t last me being away for a week, and my already departed housemate had left half a jar of butter curry paste that she insisted I use, so I ended up throwing this tofu and broccoli curry together. And you know, it was pretty darn good. Darn good enough to come into regular quick dinner rotation, that’s for certain. Maybe with a bit more practice I’ll develop the stones to have a go at a proper traditional curry with all the spice trimmings, but for now this will do in a pinch.

Ingredients

  • 1 small head broccoli, cut into little florets
  • 1/4 cup cream (guide only – I am all for you judging how much cream you want. I want LOTS)
  • 1 350g packet firm tofu nuggets
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 75ml water
  • 1 tablespoon butter curry paste (I used mild, but obviously if you want more spice go wild you spice demon, you)
  • 60g butter
  • 1 clove garlic, grated
  • long grain white rice, to serve

1. Throw the butter and the grated garlic into the bottom of a large pot or saucepan and saute over medium heat until the butter completely melts.

2. Cut the tofu nuggets into quarters and toss into the pot with the broccoli florets. Add the curry paste, can of chopped tomatoes (juice and all, don’t drain them), water and cream, mix it all together and let it simmer away on medium heat, stirring occasionally.

3. Now is a good time to throw on your rice, whether you use a rice cooker or the old school pot method. I use the rice cooking time to judge when the curry is ready – when the rice cooker pings over from ‘cook’ to ‘warm’ makes it right for me. Either that, or keep an eye on the broccoli, and when it’s at your preferred consistency turn off the heat.

4. Serve with rice. Easy as!

Leave a Reply

