Blintz on Tour: Sadie’s Diner, Toronto

Sadie’s Diner was another Toronto vegan landmark that came highly recommended by Michael, and his recs weren’t steering me wrong, so I took myself out early one morning before my films started for the day to find the place. It wasn’t hard: it’s a bright blue house on a corner down Adelaide Street West.

Sadie’s does veg*n diner food, as you may have guessed from the name, and you can expect a lot of scrambles, fry-ups, waffles and pancakes on their menu. I was indeed tempted by sweets (the chocolate chip pancakes ALONE), but thought it was probably more sensible to have a hearty savoury dish under my belt to get me through a lot of films. So alongside a tall glass of cranberry juice I went with the tofu scramble with home fries, vegan sausage and rye toast.

The scramble was indeed hearty, threaded through with liberal amounts of spinach and red onion. I did find it a tad dry, but this is a problem I tend to have with tofu scrambles across the board, so do not blame Sadie’s. The home fries were smoky, slightly herbed cubes of delight – you know that I have never looked askance at a good potato, and I am now all aboard the home fries train.

The vegan sausage was the most intriguing and surprisingly most delicious component, chewy on the outside with a tough skin yet packed full of flavour within. It might perplex others texturally but with a thump of the ketchup bottle I was in heaven.

Sadie’s is definitely a place you should take a look see at if you happen to be in Toronto’s woods. I’m STILL nursing a bruised sadness that I didn’t make my way back to have a crack at all the sweet breakfast options. Ah well, next time.

Sadie’s Diner

504 Adelaide Street West, Toronto

Ph: (+1) 416 777-2343

www.sadiesdiner.com

Leave a Reply

